Meteorites and A More Diverse Protagonist

I’ve really been looking at my manuscript from a different perspective the last few weeks. I got to a point in my editing where I was satisfied. It wasn’t that I thought I was finished, but I was too close to see what needed to be changed.

I stepped away for several months and am itching to get started again. My story is not boring (at least I hope) but my character Jet needs some more spice. I also need to condense some of my scenes. They are great scenes, but some of the wording, dialogue, visual description needs some work.

To help me get to this point, I turned to some great fiction/fantasy writing and dove in to see what others did to be successful. It’s hard to take what someone else has done and make it your own. But, what I have seen is that I can tighten up my ship.

Meteorites have a small part to play in my story and I realized, I need to make them a bigger, more decisive topic from page 1.  I’m excited to make some changes.

In the meantime, I will be finishing my second project, a medical mystery. I am currently editing this as well. This has also been crucial. I didn’t stop writing, but went on to the next project. There is nothing that beats more writing.

Have you had major changes in your manuscript? What brought you to those changes?

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Characters, Personal revelations, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meteorites and A More Diverse Protagonist

  1. I’ve been stepping away from my first WIP as well, I knew I needed the distance to make it better. Everything was just too jumbled in my head. I’m going to be done with my second WIP at the end of the month and I already have new ideas for the 1st, but I plan on running with the 2nd book for as long as I can 🙂

Leave a Reply

