WIP – The Devil’s Gate

My frist manuscript ever finished is my first love. But so far, I’ve only received rejections. And I am really okay with this. If it was easy, then I think I would have missed the point. I have started re-working my query letter and have decided to send it out to a few people who really know how to edit and clean up stories. They seem excited to work on this project, almost as if they are hoping to help me make this happen. I love when two sides can work for the same goal.

I’ve also been working hard on one of my wolf characters which makes an important appearance at the end but his real distinction won’t be seen until later. I love the idea of wolf beast and the destruction he will create.

I continued working on the second installment of my intended series – The Earth’s Divide.  The second book is so-far called Shattered

My numbers as I see them:  17 query letters sent out [the same query letter] and 9 rejections.  Each rejection has been a little general. I am really considering sending back a quick questionnaire to see if it was the query letter, the genre, or the word count.  As I talk to more and more writers, authors, editors and publishers – 140,000+ words for my first book is way too much.  I am considering another serious edit on word count.

At the present, I am working on a medical mystery and awaiting feedback from my pair of editors. I’ve reworked the query letter and have another batch of agents that I would like to query.  I will continue working on Shattered and my medical mystery until it is time to bounce on The Devil’s Gate again.  Writing is a ton of fun – even when things don’t work out exactly how I would have hoped.

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Characters, Personal revelations, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

