Second Chances – hopefully better than the first

We all have big changes in our lives that are more or less a second chance.
Harrison Ford

Second chances are really an interesting and sometimes wasteful opportunity. Half of me thinks that I waste my second chances because I usually have the same mind frame as I did when I missed the first chance. But often, we find ourselves missing and learning and that is the key. I hope that for the many times I have missed at something, I will be given a second chance.

Here is another second chance:  I recently found a blog article about a Summer Writing Contest. I love contests because they give us writers the opportunity to get some feedback and criticism of our writing. Often we, I mean me, think blindly that all is well, but we are still missing the big picture.  These contests give us a chance to see the big picture.

My second chance is going to be with literary agent Lauren Ruth. I am especially excited to get a second chance because she said no to my first ever query letter.  Lauren Ruth from BookEnds will be judging the contest and she seems awesome. I’ve read through my first query letter and felt that I didn’t do as well as I wanted, so I can’t be surprised that I got rejected. I’ve been rejected a few times now and I am excited to try again with a new query letter. [After the contest]

So, if you are looking for a first chance to get involved in this contest today and tomorrow are the last days. Certainly take a look at ‘s blog for directions on how to enter the contest and good luck.

Take a moment to read about the contest here:  http://blackbirdinmywindow.blogspot.com/2011/08/summer-writing-contest.html

 

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Personal revelations, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

