Jumping Between Two Stories

I am interested in learning more about changing scenes and even characters during a story. I have finished my first and second rough drafts and am now trying to put together the pieces. It seems like it is sort of like artwork. I need delicate brush strokes and character development.  I just hope that I am doing it right.

Let me lay it out for you.  My main manuscript concentrates on my main protagonist and his challenges, secrets and adventure.  He will survive two deadly natural disasters, learn of his true family heritage, and discover the existence of a crate that could destroy the world. I have written and edited this aspect of my story.

The interesting thing, is that I have a secondary story that ties into the first story.  It is decades apart and is intended to have a different overall feeling. These characters are soldiers and they are searching for a treasure.  A treasure whose importance will be found in the main aspect of the book.  Arguably, it will never be known to my protagonist.  The goal of this story is to link several key pieces in my main story by reliving a story that happened years ago.

I have thought about how best to introduce this secondary story.  This story is currently about 9,000 words.  I’ve divided it into 10 chapters and am currently planning to use the first chapter as the prologue.  As my main story progresses, I intend to add a chapter every 3-4 chapters until I the end.

I’ve asked myself the importance of this second story and I am fairly confident that it is there as an enhancement and a good change in the pace of the story.

Have you tried to incorporate two stories, or more, into one book?

What worked for you and what didn’t?

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Personal revelations, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jumping Between Two Stories

  1. Jennie B says:

    I have read several books that do this well, such as the “The pink Carnation” but the history has always been the main story. Although, I am currently reading a book entitled “Jane Austen ruined my life” which I anticipate will draw in history to the main story well, perhaps you should read a few similar books for a reference purpose.

Leave a Reply

