Is there a need to be critiqued?

 

This seems to be a big question that I have.  Now that I am moving on with editing, and almost finished. [Hopefully].  I’ve sent out my manuscript to some friends and writing gurus. I am starting to get some feedback.  Of course, everyone loves it so much.  [Wishful thinking]. But more truthfully, some enjoy it, while others are struggling to get through a few parts. I expected this and want brutal honesty.

But, I’ve noticed that some of the advise contradicts  other advice already received.  More than likely, both have great points but about different parts of the book.  I’m trying to remain logical rather than emotional.  Sometimes, I find myself wanting to shout that it is a good book. Maybe it is and then maybe it’s not.  Its seems it is pride vs. fear.  Who will actually win.  That’s another relevant question.

Pride

I am the one who is prideful.  I don’t believe I am the best writer in the world. [I know….astonishing]. But I do truly believe my story could work well in published print.  The reality though may be different.  If I let pride in the way, I don’t see a point in letting others, beside the publishing industry, to see my manuscript until it is published. This is truly horrible thinking and I should be taken out and shot.

Pride would have prevented this.  But there are so many potential helping viewpoints and writing improvements when getting someone else, who isn’t emotionally attached. Though, I’ve found out, choose wisely.

Fear

Fear could prevent me from sending this out to anyone friend or foe. Foes are often much harsher but I don’t have to see foes daily whereas a friend could be laughing behind my back as I write this.  Let’s hope not.  Fear is paralyzing and complex. Just when I think I have mastered it, it finds a new crevice or hole to poke its head. I hate fear, but can’t escape it either.

I strive to send out my manuscript despite fear and pride. They both want me to look at my manuscript through tinted glasses.  I need a real look at the manuscript to make real improvements.  That is where my need to be critiqued should be centered.  I need to build rough skin and yet attempt to remain objective.

Do I need to be critiqued? The answer is always yes….but again, by the right people. Friends are helpful but not always the best choice.  Unless they are an already published, amazing writer, who-really-knows-what-they-are-doing.  Anyone of those want to be my friend???   Oh well.  On to the next phase, preparing to write a query letter.  Uh-oh…here comes pride and fear again!

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Personal revelations, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

