My Use of Adverbs

I am editing and am surprised on how many different Adverbs I have used.  I haven’t yet decided if that is a good or bad things. I am not going to define an adverb.  It is easy enough to find.  But  their importance are often overlooked.

As I work through the editing process of my first completed manuscript, I notice that most of my adverbs are just extra words that aren’t really helping the story along.  Though, there are those times, where an adverb seems very important.

But, I have overheard others that declare that all adverbs must be cut, cleaned, and scraped in the junk pile.  I tend to agree with most, but definitely not with all.  There seems to be a fight brewing about the role and importance in writing overall.  I have heard adverbs described as Lame descriptors or a dirty word.

I fear though, is what a real editor’s feels about adverbs and since I am not, my  opinion carries very little, except to myself.  Would someone deny my manuscript on my usage or overuse of adverbs.  In the end I see a debate about if adverbs are good or bad.  The real question, in my own eye, is when to use one.  On one hand, it seems completely impossible to take away all adverbs.  On the other hand, they are affecting my word count and maybe not always in the good way.

I am in no way and expert about many things and specifically I can not claim to be one about adverbs.  In the end, I will keep some in my manuscript.  But, as I found out, I had one in almost every line.  This needs to be corrected.  I hope my choice in keeping some adverbs turns out to be the correct choice.

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Use of Adverbs

  1. Adverbs are also my guilty pleasure. I think it’s natural that we have such an affinity for them considering we are writers and writers lovelovelove their words. But you are on the right track–they must be used rarely. When I successfully write the action in the scene, adverbs become superfluous. Actually, I’ve found entire sentences to be superfluous. There is no need to restate what the reader “witnesses”.

  2. jgavinallan says:

    Absolutely! As are exclamation marks.
    Your writings are pretty helpful. I think you think too much. You seem to have a handle on it.

    jgavinallan.wordpress.com
    I need critiques from someone like you. Really and truly I do, most definitely and in a sense positively. May is crucial for me.
    Thanks
    J

Leave a Reply

