A Perspective in Writing

As writers, we write about mystery, tragedy, love and sometimes forgiveness.  We write about dreams, adventure,  fiction, or fact.  So many of our writing abilities center around dreams, thoughts, or experiences that we’ve had.  Not all experiences make us better and not all stories are written.  But perspective is important to keep or allow ourselves some slack.  I’ve been struggling to finish editing my book.  An injury forced me to really slow down in that department.

A few weeks passed after my injury and  I am spending a lot of time at the hospital after surgery for a loved one.  Again, more perspective.  Not everything goes the way we want it.  No matter how much I want my book to succeed, it is likely that it won’t.  I am okay with that.  My next decision needs to be whether I move on to something else or keep trying.  To me…failure would be giving up and not continuing.  Success would be pressing forward even with a small hope.  But hope is still there and that is all that I need.  Hope can be one of the best perspectives.

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Personal revelations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Perspective in Writing

  1. Tevita says:

    I really liked your “Hope is another perspective” line in the email update I got. I read it as something similar to “down but not out”. Melancholic yet still encouraging. You should save that to use in future writings. I know I’ll be borrowing that line (with credit to you, of course.) Keep pushing, man. You define your own success and then use it as an accelerant for another project.

  2. Bob says:

    Writing needs to be fresh and not contrived, springing from a great depth of understanding of us and our world.
    AngryAussie taking down Ayn Rand shows popular success can be abject failure … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1MtJ_jlVG4
    Love individuals not ideologies, shalom, Bob.

    PS. Less is more.

Leave a Reply

