A Much Needed Vacation

I am back after a wonderful vacation to Maine and Boston.  I now know that I was really in need for some time off.  Sometimes, I do too much and during this vacation I did very little, at least with regards to editing, writing, and planning.  Of course I couldn’t fully stay away.

Editing is always sitting in a close bag waiting to be opened and a pen to be unleashed.  A few nights while trying to recuperate from our daily adventure, I was able to pull out a few chapters and get to work.  On the other hand, there were times where I refused to do anything and loved every minute of it.

Boston has so many great places and wonderful food.  I was able to stop by The Harvard Book Store and the Boston Book Festival and loved both.  Though I really enjoyed walking through the bookstore and was piqued by a printing press that could serve me for self-publishing if things don’t work out otherwise.  At least it is something to think about.  Keep options open.

The Boston Book Festival was very interesting with a tons of presenters and authors sharing much information.  I was unable to attending anything substantial and many of the booths in Copley Square were designed for those who lived in or near Boston.  It was great watching and meeting some interesting people.  Not everyone I meet had something useful for myself, but I was able to share experiences that others seemed interested.

One of my favorite experiences was watching the play:  Wicked.  If was very well done and the Boston Opera House was amazing and perfect for this play.  We had 4th row seats and had a blast.  What a night!

My one success for the vacation was reading:  The Art of War for Writers which was fantastic and really a great read.  The book is well written and easy to follow.  There are several areas that apply to almost all writers.  I found myself laughing out loud and other times writing down page numbers with great information.  It can be helpful to any writer.

Now, it is time to get back to work.  I have been ahead of schedule in editing, now I am right on schedule.  But I definitely need and want to get back to work.   Time to push ahead!

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Personal revelations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

