Is that the end in sight?

Anxiety is almost bubbling at my pores.  I am preparing to finish my first draft of my first manuscript.  Every writer has been at this point during their careers.  Of course I believe I have something great here, but, then again, maybe I don’t.

I try to write something productive every time that I sit down to write.  It works for the most part but at other times I use repetitive wording and phrases and my descriptions are lacking conviction and my conversation is missing a step. But I continue onward.   I can’t imagine brilliance flows non-stop for everyone.  Though flowing brilliance even once would be reassuring.

I believe that I am working on the last scene of the book.  This scene was originally thought to be the middle of the book but so many other observations and important scenes and development took over the story and moved it in another way.

But in the end, I find myself where I wanted to go.  I am working on that and am finding that I can’t wait to get done.  I am looking for the relief of finishing.  The next step will be the editing process.  This won’t be an easy task in-of-itself. 

It is also time to start researching literary agents and beginning the process that it takes to convince an agent to become my agent.  I wonder how long I should plan on editing. 

I have been speaking and researching many things from publishing to e-books, and book conferences.  It seems that a lot of things must come together at the right time when someone gets published.  I would prefer to have luck on my side, rather than on the opposite side.  Good writing, editing, storyline, characters, and overall marketability will also be tested.

My greatest fear, besides actually having someone else evaluating my writing, is not being confident enough to present a case for my book.  What if it really is good enough to be published but my lack of confidence in the field of writing could be detrimental.  I must stay grounded and understand as much as possible.  The more comfortable I feel, the better chance that I have not to screw up.  The end is really in sight…well kind of!

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Characters, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

