Now that I am writing a book, I have learned 10 great things

My name is Logan and I would love to be an author!!!      [“Good luck,” comes a shout from the audience]

Fear

I have learned that positive self advice can never hurt as I am often bombarded by self-doubt and even fear.  It has been a long time since I have felt fear in something that I have wanted to do.

One thing that I am really afraid of, his heights.  I never knew that I would be, until I was high above a canyon.  The same is for writing a book.   My fear is not the actual writing, but that moment, when I let myself think about it, allowing someone else to look at something that has become so personal.  I can imagine that this is a common feeling among debutant writers.     That’s me  🙂

Writing a book  has been much more difficult than I would have ever expected.  I have been working on it for almost 11 months now.  I have learned so much, not only on writing, but editing, grammar, literary agents, and publishing.  I hope to learn much more on a more personal and intimate level of each of these things.

10 Things I have learned since I  started writing a book

1.) I suk at spelling and grammar

2.) No amount of background and experience substitutes for sitting down and typing – just do it

3.) Twitter has been somewhat helpful –  [Yes, even I was surprised]

4.) A good computer is essential

5.) A good dictionary and thesaurus  is even more essential

6.) I wish I had started this years ago

7.) My favorite thing about writing is the unexpected turns that writing allows and even necessitates

8.) Characters become a part of you

9.) Plot and storyline seem to be what separates a good story from an average one.  [I pray my storyline will be liked by one other person than my children]

10.) I am surprised how much I doubt myself.  If I can’t have confidence in me, who else will!

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

