Unexpected forgetfulness.

As I am ending my first draft of my first book, I have reluctantly noticed that during certain periods of writing an need may arise that forces me to refer back to an idea or name, earlier in the draft.  That is when the trouble starts. I am having immense difficulty remembering that name or item.

A part of me concerns that I have not developed the story enough on characters or plot and should never forget anything.   But than again, some characters are only there to help the story or add humor. The specific names are not always important.   🙂

Another large difficulty is that I attempt my writing on a variety of different platforms including several different computers, a notebook, paper, and a Dictaphone.  To accomplish my writing, I am forced to write whenever and wherever I can and that often means without the previous several chapters.  But there are certain things that I should remember but just can’t.   Sometimes I think that it is funny, but other times it is more than an inconvenience.

I wonder if someone who has written several books forgets certain information, such as basic characters.  It must happen but I wonder how you get through it.  Laugh at it or have a mental or physical character list.  I have started the latter and decided that a character list is essential.

As I being editing in the next few weeks, [yuck]  I will create a character list and a list of family members, birth locations [if applicable], locations, personality traits, and even some common use phrases.  I am not sure how incorporating that it will require but hopefully it will prevent problems if my book is picked up and a second book is necessary.

As a musician sings their song over and over again, it becomes so ingrained into their mind that they often don’t forget lyrics or meanings.  As I work on editing and changing and improving, I hope that becomes the case with me.  That it becomes so apart of me that I no longer forget things unexpectedly, at least, that is my hope.

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Characters, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

