The Mundane of Writing

When writing is your goal, hopefully you are doing whatever it takes to accomplish that goal.  Writing is not something that can be skipped, pushed out-of-the-way, or accomplished through a shortcut.  If you want to write something, you must put in the time to write. And as I begin to learn how to write, I often find myself pushing through the mundane of writing.

Don’t be confused, even though sometimes I am, I love to write and I spend most of my time writing.  My day job has me seeing patients, but writing their chart and their visit takes up a lot of time.  Nothing can substitute for that time I take to write an accurate chart.

But my writing does not stop there.  I write for a medical blog called InterActive Heath [Shameless self advertising].   Earths Divide is a blog about my adventures in writing my first book.  And with all the luck, effort, and persistence, I hope to one day have it published.

The great thing is that my children are learning to love reading and writing.  They are each aspiring authors and are working on their own books.  One is a book about frogs and the other is a picture book.  But they love to read, listen to stories and imagine.

I am also a runner.  I have run a few marathons, 5Ks and I strive to run a few times each week.  As I runner I also learned that their isn’t a substitute to hitting the pavement.  Though, that doesn’t mean that before each run, I am dying to go running, though sometimes I am.  Most of the time I hate running before and during the run and it isn’t until after that I am glad that I did it.

For me, writing is a little different.  There are times that I look forward to writing and regret stopping in the middle of a great scene.  But there are also plenty of other times that writing can be mundane and I must just push through writing that day.  For whatever reason, and on that specific day, writing can be a chore.  But it often is the same as running, once finished, I am thrilled that I took the time to write.

What are your strategies to get through the mundane of writing.  How does anxiety push you forward or hold you up?   Please let me know.

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

