Finding an Editor

I love writing and enjoy the vastness of trying to put something on paper that I have been turning back and forth in my head.   It is the best part about writing because it is just that.

The problem is that there is a lot more to writing than just that.  This list includes research, asking for help, editing, cutting,  artwork [when applicable], contracts,  personal reading, and others.  Many of these things takes practice, experience, and a large amount of effort to accomplish.

Writing is going well but slowly.  I worry daily about the quality of my writing and the depth that it requires to bring about good characters and a decent plot.  I know that I will struggle at this, I have chosen to have 6 main characters.  3 boys and 3 girls along with a slew of other side characters.  I will need to ask for a lot of help in making sure these characters sound as their own characters and not as a recreation of my own thoughts and voice.

But in the end, editing is my main concern.  Of course, I know how the story goes and where it has been.  I understand some in-depth flaws of my characters and some unseen driving force.  But you always need someone with an outside prospective to evaluate your work.  It will be a hard decision. Finding an editor has been on my mind for weeks and even months.

I am a novice when it comes to the book deal, literary agent and a publishing company.  Some advice was given to wait until I get an agent and a publishing contract.  [Always the optimist, even when unlikely]  Then let the publishing company help with editing.  That sounds perfect, but, in reality, I fear that without an outside editor, my publishing dream won’t be a reality.

I finally realized, that I want to present the best manuscript I can for an agent and a publisher.  That will require me to find an editor.  I have looked on the internet and there are a lot of editors and possible places to look.  Though picking an editor seems very difficult because, this person, must have your best interest in mind.   I think, from who I have listened to, most editors do just that.

A close friend has a daughter who is an editor though she has not worked with manuscripts.  She edited a document for a diabetes related competition and did a great job.  She has shown some interest in wanting to edit my manuscript and she is local.  That seems to be an important thing for me, because I really find it necessary to meet with an Editor to go over necessary items

Tomorrow or in the next few days, I plan on sitting down with my potentially new editor.  We will discuss fees and expectations and I look forward to that meeting.  I expect that I will be nervous. My goal is to finish the book in the next two months and then start working on the second draft.

At that point, I would send chapters to the Editor to begin which could be more in October than anything sooner.  I think that I am okay with this but overall, this is about a six months behind schedule.  But oh well!  Wish me luck on meeting with the editor soon, I will need it.

Update:

And the meeting with my potential editor went great.  We talked briefly about the book and she seemed excited.  She is also thinking of adding in someone else who can help with the storyline.  This could be very helpful.  All in all, I really hope this works out.

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding an Editor

  1. josh1340 says:

    Good luck with the process! May your editor seeking experience be a pleasant one.
    -Josh

Leave a Reply

