Choosing The Style of Writing

As I dive into writing, I am getting wet, and I love.  One of my trials thus far is picking and better yet, understanding the style of writing that is the best option for the story that I want tot ell. Choosing either 1st or 3rd person can be tricky and may depend on you.

A Narrative point of view in 1st person was recommended by a friend to be the best place to start.  However, this wasn’t done until I had already finished the third chapter.

Switching from one point of view to another was more difficult than I would have expected.   Additionally it was time-consuming but a good exercise in writing style.  I, of course, meant to save both copies after finishing.  I wanted to read them out-loud to determine which one I preferred.  My 3rd person copy did not save and I was left with only the 1st person.

After reading through the three chapters twice, I noticed how much I hated this story being told in 1st person.  I again, went back and changed everything.  But this time, I didn’t even try to save the 1st person narrative.  It is funny though, in other stories, usually short stories, 1st person seems to make so much more sense.  I was surprised to see how much this story needed to be done in 3rd person.

First person narrative uses the word “I” and it sounds simple.  But if your used to using 3rd person than you will find yourself slipping easily back into that usage.

Third person narrative is done sort of as a “third-party” watching the scenes/story unfold.  It has also been referred to as “omniscient point of view”.   “He” and “She” replaces the I in this case.

1st and 3rd views are the most common usages – but often asked is what is the 2nd person narrative.  This is a more confusing and sometimes interesting form.  “You” is the primary form or wording.  For example:  “If you wanted to find fabulous food in Chicago.  You should check out this website for choices.  You won’t be disappointed.”

Which is Better?

This all depends on you and your style of writing and what is being written.  There will always be people who prefer reading novels from either the first or third person.  Some commands or articles, self-help books and others where second person is better.

Trial and error – don’t be like me, in losing or not saving you drafts.  But try writing your manuscript, blog, or article in both 1st and 3rd person.  [2nd person as well if you like] Then take and read out-loud and see which one you prefer.  You may be surprised in what you hear and what you like.

Typically comfort is often the key.  Often writers get set in stone or familiar with one type or another and find it difficult to switch or try something new.  This can be both a good and bad thing.

It is funny though, I am long past the third chapter but I still find myself slipping into first person. It often depends on what I have been writing or reading just prior to sitting down and writing.  How fun!!

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Choosing The Style of Writing

  1. Clarlucky says:

    I love reading books, have done so since I was really young. But I can’t stand 1st person books. They always seem fake. Well really, I think I have a harder time getting into the book when in 1st person. I just recently started writing some poems, that seems all together another writing style.

Leave a Reply

