Book 1

Book 1 is scheduled to be called: The Devil’s Gate and it is part of the series called The Earth’s Divide.  At least that is what I am hoping.  It took a long time and a bunch of different titles but it all came down to this.

I am about 16 or so chapters into the book – excluding a prologue and other items.  What a challenge and I mean it!!   I am hoping to be about halfway done.

Though I have spent so much time on book 1 that if there is a book 2 and I am force to write within a certain period I may go crazy.

Chapter writing is essential and difficult. Initially many of my chapters that went on forever.  I wanted to make the right breaks and corrections.  It took me awhile to find the correct stoppage point to end a chapter.

I have six main characters who make up The Echoes.  They are a group of friends from elementary school.  A disaster struck their town causing a separation of each friend.  Years later, they meet up again in California only to discover that other natural disasters may be connected.

I guess my book can be classified as a fantasy fiction book.  It is certainly something that took me awhile to put the pieces together.  Initially I has parts of a whole and it has taken some tweaking to make things work.  At least I hope that it is working!

I am scared about publishing and getting an Agent.  I want to be completely done with the book before I embark on that side of things.  That is when the fun will really start!!!

My book contains the following parts that I hope to put together to make a whole.

1.) Destruction of parts of the Earth

2.) Egypt or better stated – hieroglyphics

3.) Hitler or at least small historical elements

4.) 6 main characters and several others – The Echoes

5.) Adventure

6.) End of the world

7.) Dates         [both types: relationships and actual calendar dates]

8.) Others

Just thinking about where I began and where I currently am is exciting.  I am not sure how soon the first book will end but I am hoping for 2 or three more books after this.  I can hope can’t I.

Editing is my next big concern. Self editing, cutting down, and improving the grammar and story will be essential.  I have finished part I and will send that to an editor to begin the process – that should be interesting.

About earthsdivide

Learning something new can be hard to do. But why not! I love what I do and what I am trying to do. It hasn't been easy but writing is fun to do. To tell a good story takes hard work and a lot of effort, hopefully, I can do both. But if I can't it will still be a great time.
This entry was posted in Characters, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

